Opalescence

New Construction

  • Building Type : Collective housing < 50m
  • Construction Year :
  • Delivery year : 2022
  • Address 1 - street : 5 bis avenue de Cam de Prats 64100 BAYONNE, France
  • Climate zone : [Cfb] Marine Mild Winter, warm summer, no dry season.

  • Net Floor Area : 2 924 m2
  • Construction/refurbishment cost : 12 000 000 €
  • Cost/m2 : 4103.97 €/m2

Proposed by :

  • Primary energy need :
    43.1 kWhep/m2.an
    (Calculation method : RT 2012 )
Energy consumption
Economical buildingBuilding
< 50A
A
51 à 90B
B
91 à 150C
C
151 à 230D
D
231 à 330E
E
331 à 450F
F
> 450G
G
Energy-intensive building

Case study submitted and written by Foucault Pasquier de Franclieu and Clothilde Gaumer as part of their Masters in Engineering and Sustainable Construction Management at the Ecole Nationale Supérieure d'Arts et Métiers (ENSAM).

The Opalescence program is a bold and innovative real estate project which, through its architecture, its structural organization and its energy performance, creates links. It is first of all a link created with its natural and architectural environment through precise work on integration into the existing heritage. It is then a virtuous link created with nature by ensuring the energy sustainability of the building and by inserting green spaces at the heart of the project. Finally, it is the creation of a renewed social link between the inhabitants and project leaders through a participatory design approach and the development of shared spaces.

The Opalescence program is therefore the fruit of an innovative reflection on a new way of designing the urban habitat of tomorrow and in this it is a model for all builders who are keen to recreate the link.

Sustainable development approach of the project owner

It is undeniable that the Basque Country, and the metropolis of Bayonne, are particularly attractive, as evidenced by the increase of its population. However, the housing stock in the city of Bayonne is old and the urbanization very spread out. The city is therefore facing a new challenge, poorly tackled in the region, namely that of its densification to curb its sprawl and therefore prevent further artificialization of the soil. The Opalescence program fits precisely into this dynamic of densification of the city through R+3 or R+4 buildings constituting a set of more than 100 housing units.

The Opalescence program succeeds in this risky bet of combining densification and living comfort, thanks to unobstructed views from the large bay windows of the housing units, green spaces or even the flexibility of the lines of the building. In this, Opalescence responds to the new challenges that the cities of tomorrow must face.

Architectural description

"The program is part of a remarkable plant environment. The desire is to propose an architecture in dialogue with nature. With its flexible and random shapes, like twirling ribbons, this project is reminiscent of trees with tall stems swaying in the The rounded and asymmetrical shapes give fluidity to the whole project and a feeling of calm and well-being, thus reinforcing the sought-after bioclimatic architecture."

François Hebrard - Architect

Contractor

Construction Manager

    François HEBRARD

Stakeholders

    Others

    LUR


    Company

    Visual Concept

Energy consumption

  • 43,10 kWhep/m2.an
  • 140,00 kWhep/m2.an
  • RT 2012

    Heating: 18.7 kWhEP/m²/year Domestic hot water: 18.9 kWhEP/m²/year Lighting: 4.2 kWhEP/m²/year Auxiliaries: 1.3 kWhEP/m²/year

Real final energy consumption

    38,60 kWhef/m2.an

Systems

    • Individual gas boiler
    • Electric radiator
    • Water radiator
    • Individual gas boiler
    • No cooling system
    • Single flow
    • Humidity sensitive Air Handling Unit (Hygro B
    • Solar photovoltaic
  • 71,23 %
  • 100 photovoltaic panels are installed, facing south

Biodiversity approach

  • 11 667,00 m2
  • 1 500,00
  • The Opalescence program is located at the heart of a residential and heavily wooded area of Bayonne between the La Nive and Adour rivers. It revolves around a tree-lined central island, reserved for gentle paths since all the car parks are in the basement. This green space includes rest areas, plant and mineral scenographies or even shared gardens. Like the entire architectural project, this central island is based on the interaction between intimacy and sharing.

    The buildings are set up in such a way as to open up angles of view on the wooded environment located at the back of the program: these visual breakaways bring a dynamic and breath to the built environment.

    Colorist experts have carried out chromatic studies of the surrounding natural and architectural environment in order to identify a range of colors allowing the Opalescence project to integrate as well as possible into the existing building.

Product

    Thermedia 0.6 and 0.45

    Lafarge

    The daring architectural choice of the Opalescence project, namely to offer large continuous balconies, poses a major thermal problem. Indeed, balconies are a source of high heat loss through thermal bridges. To overcome this, high-performance concrete was used throughout the building. Thermedia 0.6 and 0.45 concretes from the Lafarge company were used, because these formulations are 3 to 4 times more insulating than that of a standard concrete and have the advantage of being able to be implemented in a traditional way, without even the need to use thermal breaks. The thermal conductivity of these concretes is then λ=0.54W/m∙K or λ=0.45W/m∙K, much lower than that of a standard reinforced concrete which is of the order of λ=1, 5W/m∙K. The use of this concrete therefore allows greater architectural freedom, key word of the Opalescence project since it can be associated with thermal insulation only from the inside.


    Participatory approach - Care design

    Eager to weave social ties between its inhabitants, the Opalescence project is built around a 170m² sharing space promoting activities, meetings and exchanges inside but also outside the residence. The development of this sharing space was done in a participatory design approach aimed at all the inhabitants so that they are actors and creators of their shared living space.
    This approach took place in four stages:
    - A phase of chromatic study (color duplicates) and light (light characterization) of the project environment. This study, carried out by colorist experts, aims to create a chromatic identity that best fits into the existing architectural landscape. In addition, an initial consultation of experts made it possible to define the main lines of the shared space in terms of costs, management, maintenance, etc.
    - A phase of participatory workshops bringing together 51% of the future inhabitants in the form of questionnaires in order to create a first link between the stakeholders and to collect a maximum of ideas, wishes, proposals relating to the sharing space
    - A stage of analysis of the wishes of the inhabitants in order to define, on the one hand, the administrative framework relating to the management of this space and, on the other hand, the design itself, both from the point of view of characterization and the distribution of the different rooms than that of the atmosphere created in terms of texture, materials and colors.
    - A last phase of restitution meeting with the inhabitants who participated in order to present the shared space project as a whole. Two proposals were made and submitted to a final vote of the inhabitants.


 building
 eco-design
 housing
 cities and territories
 housing
 urban planning

Author of the page


  • Other case studies

    More

    Contest

    Green Solutions Awards 2022-2023 / France

Opalescence

Construction Neuve

  • Type de bâtiment : Logement collectif < 50m
  • Année de construction :
  • Année de livraison : 2022
  • Adresse : 5 bis avenue de Cam de Prats 64100 BAYONNE, France
  • Zone climatique : [Cfb] Océanique hiver tempéré, été chaud, pas de saison sèche

  • Surface nette : 2 924 m2
  • Coût de construction ou de rénovation : 12 000 000 €
  • Coût/m² : 4103.97 €/m2

Proposé par :

  • Consommation d’énergie primaire :
    43.1 kWhep/m2.an
    (Méthode de calcul : RT 2012 )
Consommation énergétique
Bâtiment économeBâtiment
< 50A
A
51 à 90B
B
91 à 150C
C
151 à 230D
D
231 à 330E
E
331 à 450F
F
> 450G
G
Bâtiment énergivore

Etude de cas proposée et rédigée par Foucault Pasquier de Franclieu et Clothilde Gaumer dans le cadre de leur cursus Ingénierie et gestion durable des constructions à l'Ecole Nationale Supérieure d'Arts et Métiers (ENSAM). 

Le programme Opalescence est un projet immobilier audacieux et innovant qui permet par son architecture, son organisation structurelle ou encore ses performances énergétiques de créer du lien. C'est d'abord un lien créé avec son environnement naturel et architectural à travers un travail précis sur l'intégration au patrimoine existant. C'est ensuite un lien vertueux créé avec la nature en assurant la durabilité énergétique du bâtiment et en insérant des espaces verts au coeur du projet. C'est enfin la création d'un lien social renouvelé entre les habitants et porteurs de projet par le biais d'une démarche de conception participative et l'élaboration d'espaces partagés.

Le programme Opalescence est donc le fruit d'une réflexion innovante sur une nouvelle manière de concevoir l'habitat urbain de demain et il est en cela un modèle pour tous les constructeurs ayant à coeur de recréer du lien.

 

Démarche développement durable du maître d'ouvrage

Il est indéniable que le Pays Basque, et la métropole de Bayonne, sont particulièrement attractifs, en témoigne l'augmentation de sa population. Pourtant, le parc immobilier de la ville de Bayonne est ancien et l'urbanisation très étalée. La ville se retrouve donc face à un nouveau défi, peu considéré dans la région, à savoir celui de sa densification pour freiner son étalement et donc l'artificialisation des sols. Le programme Opalescence s'inscrit précisément dans cette dynamique de densification de la ville à travers des bâtiments R+3 ou R+4 constituant un ensemble de plus de 100 logements. 

Pourtant, le programme Opalescence réussit ce pari risqué d'allier densification et confort de vie, grâce à des vues dégagées depuis les larges baies des logements, des espaces verts ou encore la souplesse des lignes du bâtiment. En cela, Opalescence répond aux nouveaux enjeux auxquels les villes de demain doivent faire face. 

Description architecturale

"Le programme s'inscrit dans un environnement végétal remarquable. La volonté est de proposer une architecture en dialogue avec la nature. De par ses formes souples et aléatoires, comme des rubans virevoltants, ce projet rappelle les arbres de hautes tiges sa balançant dans le vent. Les formes arrondies et asymétriques confèrent une fluidité à l'ensemble du projet et une sensation d'apaisement et de bien-être, venant ainsi conforter l'architecture bioclimatique recherchée."

François Hebrard - Architecte

Maître d'ouvrage

Maître d'œuvre

    François HEBRARD

Intervenants

    Autre intervenant

    LUR

    Paysagiste


    Entreprise

    Visual Concept

    Concepteur lumière

Consommation énergétique

  • 43,10 kWhep/m2.an
  • 140,00 kWhep/m2.an
  • RT 2012

    Chauffage : 18,7 kWhEP/m²/an Eau Chaude Sanitaire : 18,9 kWhEP/m²/an Eclairage : 4,2 kWhEP/m²/an Auxiliaires : 1,3 kWhEP/m²/an

Consommation réelle (énergie finale)

    38,60 kWhef/m2.an

Systèmes

    • Chaudière gaz individuelle
    • Radiateur électrique
    • Radiateur à eau
    • Chaudière gaz individuelle
    • Aucun système de climatisation
    • Simple flux
    • VMC hygroréglable (hygro B)
    • Solaire photovoltaïque
  • 71,23 %
  • 100 panneaux photovoltaïques sont installés, orientés Sud

Démarche biodiversité

    Le programme Opalescence est placé au coeur d'un quartier résidentiel et fortement arboré de Bayonne entre les rivières La Nive et l'Adour. Il s'articule autour d'un coeur d'îlot central arboré, réservé aux cheminements doux puisque tous les parkings sont en sous-sol. Cet espace vert comprend des zones de repos, des scénographies végétales et minérales ou encore des jardins partagés. Comme l'intégralité du projet architectural, ce îlot central se base sur l'interaction entre intimité et partage.

    Les bâtiments sont implantés de façon à ouvrir des angles de vue sur l’environnement boisé situé à l’arrière du programme : ces échappées visuelles apportent une dynamique et un souffle à l’environnement bâti.

    Des experts coloristes ont réalisé des études chromatiques de l'environnement naturel et architectural environnant de manière à dégager une gamme de couleur permettant au projet Opalescence de s'intégrer au mieux dans le bâti existant.

  • 11 667,00 m2
  • 1 500,00

Solution

    Thermedia 0.6 et 0.45

    Lafarge

    Le choix architectural osé du projet Opalescence, à savoir de proposer de larges balcons filants pose un problème thermique majeur. En effet, les balcons sont source de fortes déperditions de chaleur par ponts thermiques. Pour palier cela, un béton très performant a été mis en œuvre sur l’intégralité du bâtiment. Les bétons Thermedia 0.6 et 0.45 de l’entreprise Lafarge ont été utilisés, car ces formulations sont 3 à 4 fois plus isolantes que celle d’un béton standard et possèdent l’avantage de pouvoir être mises en œuvre de manière traditionnelle, sans même la nécessité d’utiliser des rupteurs thermiques. La conductivité thermique de ces bétons est alors de λ=0,54W/m∙K ou λ=0,45W/m∙K, très inférieure à celle d’un béton armé standard qui est de l’ordre de λ=1,5W/m∙K. L’utilisation de ce béton permet donc une plus grande liberté architecturale, maître mot du projet Opalescence puisqu’il peut être associé à une isolation thermique uniquement par l’intérieur.


    Démarche participative - Care design

    Soucieux de tisser du lien social entre ses habitants, le projet Opalescence se construit autour d’un espace de partage de 170m² favorisant les activités, les rencontres et les échanges à l’intérieur mais aussi à l’extérieur de la résidence. Le développement de cet espace de partage s’est fait dans une démarche de conception participative à destination de tous les habitants afin que ceux-ci soient acteurs et créateurs de leur espace de vie partagé.
    Cette démarche s’est déclinée en quatre temps :
    - Une phase d’étude chromatique (contretypes couleurs) et lumineuse (caractérisation lumière) de l’environnement du projet. Cette étude, effectuée par des experts coloristes, a pour but de créer une identité chromatique s’inscrivant au mieux dans le paysage architectural existant. De plus, une première concertation d’experts a permis de définir les grandes lignes de l’espace partagé en matière de coûts, gestion, maintenance, …
    - Une phase d’ateliers participatif réunissant 51% des futurs habitants sous forme de questionnaires afin de créer un premier lien entre les parties prenantes et de collecter un maximum d’idées, de souhaits, de propositions relatives à l’espace de partage
    - Une étape d’analyse des souhaits des habitants afin de définir d’une part le cadre administratif relatif à la gestion de cet espace et d’autre part la conception à proprement parler, tant d’un point de vue de la caractérisation et de la répartition des différentes pièces que de celui de l’ambiance créée en termes de texture, matériaux et couleurs.
    - Une dernière phase de réunion de restitution aux habitants ayant participé afin de présenter le projet d’espace de partage dans sa globalité. Deux propositions ont été faites et soumises à un vote ultime des habitants.


 bâtiment
 écoconception
 logement
 villes et territoires
 logement
 urbanisme

Auteur de la page


  • Autres études de cas

    Plus