Kita Karoline Goldhofer [EN]

Extension + refurbishment

  • Building Type : Preschool, kindergarten, nursery
  • Construction Year : 2019
  • Delivery year : 2019
  • Address 1 - street : Berwangweg 10 87700 MEMMINGEN, Deutschland
  • Climate zone : [Dfb] Humid Continental Mild Summer, Wet All Year

  • Net Floor Area : 865 m2
  • Construction/refurbishment cost : 1 €
  • Cost/m2 : 0 €/m2
  • Primary energy need :
    44 kWhpe/m2.year
    (Calculation method : Other )
Energy consumption
Economical buildingBuilding
< 50A
A
51 à 90B
B
91 à 150C
C
151 à 230D
D
231 à 330E
E
331 à 450F
F
> 450G
G
Energy-intensive building

The structural concept for the day-care centre developed by heilergeiger architekten stems from the Reggio pedagogy applied in the centre. Here, reuse of the used and careful handling of the existing are of social and ecological value. This can be experienced by the children in the architecture of the day care centre. It is elementary that we do not work against the weaknesses of the existing building, but with its strengths.

The three parts of the old residential building are preserved, exposed and placed under a new shell of polycarbonate panels. The resulting spaces in between are room extensions for the day-care centre functions and an element of the sustainable energy concept. The new shell is a collector of light and energy. It allows the existing walls to remain uninsulated and as a historical layer. The energy concept is a cybernetic interplay of space, construction and use. By saving "grey energy", building materials and a CO2 reduction that already meets the 2050 climate target, the strengths of the existing and the used are also activated for climate protection in the sense of Reggio pedagogy.

The concept of reusing and activating can be experienced: the materiality and details of the existing building remain as found. Added construction is visibly raw. New furniture from the carpenter supports the use of the old.

The day-care centre is looking for architectural answers to the relevant questions of building: How do we use existing buildings and conserve resources? How do we reduce CO2 and gain space? How can climate protection be experienced as enrichment?

See more details about this project

 https://www.heilergeiger.de/objekt/reggio-orientierte-kindertagesstaette-der-alois-goldhofer-stiftung-memmingen/
 https://www.balthasar-neumann-preis.de/
 https://www.hanssauerstiftung.de/preis/hans-sauer-award-2020/
 https://www.db-bauzeitung.de/db-metamorphose/wettbewerb-respekt-perspektive-2020/
 https://eurosolar.de/de/index.php/text-medien/pressemitteilungen-eurosolar/2418-sechs-zukunftsweisende-projekte-gewinnen-den-deutschen-solarpreis-2020

Data reliability

Assessor

Photo credit

heilergeiger architekten und stadtplaner BDA
Pictures: Nicolas Felder

Contractor

    Architekt: heilergeiger architekten und stadtplaner BDA

    Kempten, [email protected]

Construction Manager

    Architekt:heilergeiger architekten und stadtplaner BDA

    Kempten, [email protected]

Stakeholders

    Contractor

    Alois Goldhofer Stiftung

    Memmingen


    Others

    Latz + Partner Landschaftsarchitektur

    Kranzberg

    Landscape architecture


    Structures calculist

    IHW Beratende Ingenieure

    Kempten


    Others

    IB Güttinger mit Ifes Institut für angewandte Energiesimulation

    Kempten/Köln

    Clima engineering and 3d thermodynamic simulation


    Thermal consultancy agency

    Güttinger Ingenieure GbR

    Kempten


    Others

    Kettner & Baur GmbH

    Memmingen

    Electrical planning


    Others

    Generation Licht

    Gaienhofen/ Hemmenhofen

    Lighting design


    Others

    Anwander GmbH & Co. KG

    Sulzberg

    Brandschutzplanung


    Others

Owner approach of sustainability

By retaining as much of the existing building stock as possible at 75%, the additional "grey energy" required is reduced. This means that all the energy already consumed, which is required for the production, transport and installation of building materials, is saved by using the existing building stock. Together with an average renewable share of 82 % for heating and cooling, the strengths of the existing building stock are thus activated for climate protection. Thus, the energy concept also follows the Reggio idea. The CO2 consumption of 4.98 kg/m²a corresponds to the climate target 2050, a 90% reduction of the current consumption to 5 kg/m²a.

Architectural description

Concept

The concept for the day care centre originates from the Reggio pedagogy applied in it, which was deliberately chosen by the Alois Goldhofer Foundation. This pedagogy can be traced back to the time after the end of the Second World War when the citizens of the Italian town of Reggio nell'Emilia found a tank, sold its individual parts and used the proceeds to finance the construction of a kindergarten. This also gave rise to an essential element of the Reggio pedagogy of reusing used objects and dealing with them creatively.

Reuse of the used

Reuse of the used and careful handling of the existing are also of social and ecological value. This can be experienced by the children in the architecture of the day care centre. An elementary aspect is that we do not work against the weaknesses, but with the strengths of the existing building.
To this end, the old house of the donor family is being used and its substance activated. The project thus supports circularity in building. The avoidance of additional "grey energy" and the sustainable conservation of resources are in the foreground. The "as-found principle" - the examination of what is found in everyday architecture - as an architectural theoretical position of Alison and Peter Smithson - also follows this approach.

Cybernetic energy concept and sustainability

For this reason, the three existing parts of the old residential building are retained, freed up and placed under a new shell of polycarbonate multiwall sheets.

The spaces created between the old and the new - formerly outdoor space, now indoor space - serve as communal areas with flexible use in the day-care centre's daily routine and are part of the sustainable, cybernetic energy concept. They are used intermediate spaces, but also "energy gardens" (Günter Pfeifer).

The envelope made of recyclable polycarbonate is a collector of light and energy and allows the existing walls to remain uninsulated and to be experienced as a historical layer. The energy concept is a cybernetic interplay of space, construction and use. This makes it possible to solve the energy renovation - as an alternative to "ETICS" - architecturally, spatially.

In the cold seasons, the passive solar energy gained by the façade as a "solar collector" is used for heat management and controlled ventilation. The façade acts as passive solar to precondition the fresh air. The energy obtained via the photovoltaic system is converted directly into heat and used to operate the heat pump and lighting. In summer, the storage mass of the existing building and a rainwater cistern support the cooling of the house. Operating and follow-up costs are thus minimised. The roof area is extensively greened and thus contributes to the longevity of the construction and the improvement of the microclimate.

By retaining as much of the existing building as possible (75%) and thus reducing additional "grey energy", as well as a renewable share of 82% on average for heating and cooling, the strengths of the existing building are activated for climate protection. Thus, the energy concept also follows the Reggio idea. The CO2 consumption of 4.98 kg/m²a corresponds to the climate target 2050, a 90% reduction of the current consumption to 5 kg/m²a.

Activation of the existing building

The day-care centre is entered via the "piazza", the central Reggio meeting point between old and new.

The former living spaces are now group and ancillary rooms of the day care centre. The garage provides space for the new kitchen. The dining room is served via its former doorway.

The crèche is located in the former swimming pool. There, the children can climb down into the old pool in a playhouse.

From the "piazza", following the terrain gradient, a generous staircase and a slide lead to the two-storey multifunctional and play room on the lower garden floor. In the adjacent "Remida", recycling material is stored that the children work with in the studios and the day-care centre workshop.

The concept of reuse and activation can be experienced: the materiality and details of the existing building remain as found. Completed construction is visibly raw. New furniture from the carpenter supports the use of the old.

The reuse of the existing is also continued in the landscape architecture.

The garden in the former park of the Stifter estate can be reached from both floors. Movement and play between the old trees and on the spacious lawn are well possible here.

Plots built with stone slabs, concrete posts and wooden logs from the existing structure and filled with recycled materials can be used here by the children in play and experimentation.

Transferability for the relevant questions of construction

The transferability of the concept lies in the search for architectural answers to the relevant questions of building: How do we use existing buildings and conserve resources? How do we reduce CO2 and gain space? How can climate protection be experienced as enrichment?

In this context, the cybernetic interaction between existing buildings, shells, use, energy and space is explored holistically. "With the cybernetic principle, the available energetic resources (...) are brought together in such a way that they complement each other in their effect. The elements for this are primarily of architectural structure and are to be promoted to mutual benefit with as little support as possible by technical means." (Günter Pfeifer)

The question of energy generation is answered spatially and not solely in technical-constructive terms. It is experienced by the residents in their own bodies and as a spatial offer. The reuse of used building fabric and its continued use in everyday life as well as the spatial-architectural energy concept are innovation strands worth pursuing. This design concept can contribute to supporting the ecologically necessary change in building.

Social sustainability was also considered in the day care centre. In order to secure the care of the children with trained attendants in the long term, the city of Memmingen, with the support of the Alois Goldhofer Foundation, trains its teams in Reggio pedagogy. Since the day care centre is also close to the local industrial area, it thus also offers places for the district and the employees of the nearby industrial companies.

In addition, the communal and multifunctional spaces are open to other user groups in the neighbourhood and the city.

Energy consumption

  • 44,00 kWhpe/m2.year
  • 232,00 kWhpe/m2.year
  • Other

  • 29,00 kWhfe/m2.year
  • 434,00 kWhpe/m2.year

Envelope performance

    The spaces created between the old and the new - formerly exterior, now interior - function as used intermediate spaces, but also as "energy gardens" (Prof. Günter Pfeifer). In order to investigate the solar gains, the interior temperatures and the summer thermal insulation of the daycare centre in relation to the new envelope and the storage mass of the existing building, a 3-D thermodynamic simulation of the building was carried out throughout the year. On this basis, the parameters for the envelope made of recyclable polycarbonate were determined. To ensure optimal light and energy yields at all times, this was developed as a single- or double-skin façade and its different degrees of translucency with corresponding energy transmittance values. The new envelope is thus a collector of light and energy and allows the existing walls to remain uninsulated and as a historical layer.In the cold seasons, the passive solar energy gained through the façade as a "solar air collector" is used to heat the rooms and precondition the fresh air. The energy obtained via the photovoltaic system is directly converted into heat for the remaining heating energy demand and used to operate the heat pump and lighting. In summer, the storage mass of the existing building, the night flushing system and a rainwater cistern support the natural cooling of the house.The energy concept is thus an interplay of space, light, existing building and use. By retaining as much as possible of the existing building stock (75 %) and thus reducing additional "grey energy", its strengths are used for climate protection. The regenerative share for heating and cooling is 82 %. The CO2 consumption of 4.98 kg/m²a is already in line with the 2050 climate target. Accordingly, the integrated planning holistically follows the Reggio idea of appreciating and activating what already exists.

    The accompanying monitoring provides the engineers with precise usage data. With the help of this data, a digital twin of the building is fed. A dashboard provides precise processes and energy quantities and can be used to optimize the system. With the help of this data on progress and energy consumption, the previous simulation is compared with reality and the building automation is optimized. The current trend in monitoring shows that the planned energy consumption has not been achieved.

Systems

    • Heat pump
    • Low temperature floor heating
    • Heat pump
    • Water chiller
    • Radiant ceiling
    • Natural ventilation
    • Nocturnal ventilation
    • Nocturnal Over ventilation
    • Single flow
    • Solar photovoltaic
    • Other, specify
    • Heat pump
  • 82,00 %
  • See "Performance of the building shell"

Water management

    The extensive greening of the flat roof serves to retain rain. The remaining portion is collected in a garden rainwater cistern with a capacity of 12,000 litres. The cistern is also integrated into the building's energy concept: The rainwater collected and stored in the cistern at a constant temperature of approx. 12-14 degrees °C is used to pre-heat the supply air in winter and adiabatic cooling in summer.

Indoor Air quality

    The construction process was accompanied by a suitably qualified pollutant expert. Thus, construction-accompanying pollutant management of new building materials and materials was carried out with the focus on the use of low-emission building materials and products. Extract from the product criteria z. B. free of plasticizers and solvents, EC1 / EC1plus, EC1-R / EC1plus-R, Giscode PU10, Ö10, Ral-ZU 123, 113, no chemical wood protection in the interior etc.
    All materials in the existing building were also examined for pollutants such as PAHs, PCBs, lindane, etc. All uncontaminated materials were kept / reused, all contaminated materials properly demolished and disposed of.

    To ensure quality, an indoor air measurement was carried out 4 weeks after the construction was completed and the building was occupied.

    The measurement took place during normal operation of the ventilation system:
    Sampling according to DIN EN UISt 16000 parts 1,2,35,6
    Examination parameters. VOC and formaldehyde

    TVOC according to ad hoc: Results all in the range <200 ug / m³
    Formaldehyde all results <15 ug / m³

Health & Comfort

    All materials from the existing building that had been checked for pollutants were retained or reused.
    A conventional composite thermal insulation system was not used for energy refurbishment.
    The building is characterised by the greatest possible avoidance of composite materials, direct use of materials such as polycarbonate (100% recyclable, partly as regranulate), steel, new masonry and the visible leaving of existing masonry, lime plaster, mineral paint, concrete, linoleum flooring, wooden fixtures and furniture. The surfaces of the materials used were largely used without further surface treatment.

    810ppm

    Innentemperaturmessung Winter 20°C, Innentemperaturmessung Sommer 25,2°C

    The acoustics are favored as many of the wall surfaces are not parallel to each other. This means that there is good mixing or diffusion of the sound from the design. The niches, open shelves, furniture in the room and the acoustic ceilings also contribute to better diffusion and thus acoustic behavior. The acoustic ceilings consist of a wooden substructure with sound insulation in the cavities. Visible wood wool acoustic panels serve as absorbers towards the room.

    Dm 7-10 % nach DIALux

Product

    Polycarbonate multi wall sheets

    Rodeca GmbH

    Rodeca GmbH, Freiherr-vom-Stein-Straße 165, D-45473 Mülheim an der Ruhr, [email protected]

    Rohbau / Struktur, Mauerwerk, Fassade

    Polycarbonate is a crystal clear, high impact thermoplastic with a temperature resistance of -40 to + 115 ° C, briefly up to 130 ° C. Its impact strength is almost constant over this temperature range. The many different product variants offer flexible design options in terms of shape, color and function. The sheets offer good long-term behavior thanks to UV protection and are translucent and heat-insulating. They are used as facade cladding, round facades, in sports and commercial halls, in interior construction, especially trade fair construction or room division, as well as in wall and roof renovations. Polycarbonate can be 100% recycled.

Building Environmental Quality

  • Building flexibility
  • indoor air quality and health
  • biodiversity
  • consultation - cooperation
  • comfort (visual, olfactive, thermal)
  • energy efficiency
  • renewable energies
  • maintenance
  • building end of life management
  • integration in the land
  • building process
  • products and materials

Reasons for participating in the competition(s)

The building is particularly concerned with the "concern for the existing". The existing stock was activated and materials that had been dismantled outside were reused. By using the potential of the existing building, 75% gray energy could be saved.

The building is particularly concerned with the "concern for the existing building stock". The existing building stock was activated and deconstructed materials were reused in the exterior. By using the potential of the existing building, 75% of grey energy could be saved.

The spaces created by placing the old parts of the building under the new shell of polycarbonate web panels are an extension of the space for the day-care centre functions and an element of the sustainable energy concept. The new envelope is a collector of light and energy. As a passive solar façade, it allows the existing walls to remain uninsulated and as a historical layer. As an active solar component, the PV system on the roof contributes to regenerative energy production. The energy concept is a cybernetic interaction of space, construction and use. By saving "grey energy", building materials and a CO2 reduction that already meets the 2050 climate target, the strengths of the existing and the used are activated for climate protection.

Building candidate in the category

Alle Kategorien

Alle Kategorien

Green Solutions Awards 2020-2021 / Deutschland

 Sustainability
 buidling stock
 resources
 CO2
 building stock activation
 reduce-reuse-recycle
 thermal renovation
 minimized gray energy


Other case studies

More

Contest

Green Solutions Awards 2020-2021 / Deutschland

Kita Karoline Goldhofer

Extension + refurbishment

  • Gebäudetyp : Kindertagesstätte, Kindergarten, Vorschule, Kinderhort
  • Baujahr : 2019
  • Übergabejahr : 2019
  • Straße : Berwangweg 10 87700 MEMMINGEN, Deutschland
  • Klimazone : [Dfb] Feuchter, europäischer, milder Sommer, das ganze Jahr über nass

  • Nettogrundfläche : 865 m2
  • Bau / Renovierungskosten : 1 €
  • Kosten/m² : 0 €/m2
  • Primärenergiebedarf :
    44 kWhpe/m2.year
    (Berechnungsmethode : Sonstige )
Energieverbrauch
Wirtschaftliches BauenGebäude
< 50A
A
51 à 90B
B
91 à 150C
C
151 à 230D
D
231 à 330E
E
331 à 450F
F
> 450G
G
Energieintensives Gebäude

Das von heilergeiger architekten entwickelte bauliche Konzept für die Kindertagesstätte entspringt der in ihr angewendeten Reggio-Pädagogik. Hier sind Wiederverwendung des Gebrauchten und ein sorgsamer Umgang mit dem Bestehenden von gesellschaftlichem und ökologischem Wert. Dieser wird für die Kinder in der Architektur der Kita erfahrbar. Elementar dabei ist, dass nicht gegen die Schwächen des Bestands, sondern mit seinen Stärken gearbeitet wird.

Die drei Gebäudeteile des alten Wohnhauses werden erhalten, freigestellt und unter einer neuen Hülle aus Polycarbonatstegplatten eingestellt. Die entstehenden Zwischenräume sind Raumerweiterung für die Kitafunktionen und Element des nachhaltigen Energiekonzepts. Die neue Hülle ist Kollektor von Licht und Energie. Sie erlaubt, die Bestandswände ungedämmt und als historische Schicht zu erhalten. Das Energiekonzept ist kybernetisches Zusammenspiel von Raum, Konstruktion und Gebrauch. Durch die Einsparung von „grauer Energie“, Baustoffen und einer CO2-Reduktion, die bereits heute das Klimaziel 2050 erfüllt, werden die Stärken des Bestands und des Gebrauchten auch im Sinne der Reggio-Pädagogik für den Klimaschutz aktiviert.

Das Konzept des Wiederverwendens und Aktivierens ist erlebbar: Materialität und Details des Bestands bleiben wie vorgefunden. Ergänzte Konstruktion ist sichtbar roh. Neue Möbel vom Schreiner unterstützen den Gebrauch des Alten.

Die Kita sucht nach architektonischen Antworten auf die relevanten Fragen des Bauens: Wie nutzen wir Bestand und schonen Ressourcen? Wie reduzieren wir CO2 und gewinnen Raum? Wie wird Klimaschutz als Bereicherung erfahrbar?

Mehr Details zu diesem Projekt

 https://www.heilergeiger.de/objekt/reggio-orientierte-kindertagesstaette-der-alois-goldhofer-stiftung-memmingen/
 https://www.balthasar-neumann-preis.de/
 https://www.hanssauerstiftung.de/preis/hans-sauer-award-2020/
 https://www.db-bauzeitung.de/db-metamorphose/wettbewerb-respekt-perspektive-2020/
 https://eurosolar.de/de/index.php/text-medien/pressemitteilungen-eurosolar/2418-sechs-zukunftsweisende-projekte-gewinnen-den-deutschen-solarpreis-2020

Datenzuverlässigkeit

Auditor

Copyrightt

heilergeiger architekten und stadtplaner BDA
Bilder: Nicolas Felder

Unternehmer

    Architekt: heilergeiger architekten und stadtplaner BDA

    Kempten, [email protected]

Bauleiter

    Architekt:heilergeiger architekten und stadtplaner BDA

    Kempten, [email protected]

Stakeholder

    Bauherr

    Alois Goldhofer Stiftung

    Memmingen


    Andere

    Latz + Partner Landschaftsarchitektur

    Kranzberg

    Landschaftsarchitektur


    Tragwerksplaner

    IHW Beratende Ingenieure

    Kempten


    Andere

    IB Güttinger mit Ifes Institut für angewandte Energiesimulation

    Kempten/Köln

    Clima Engineering und 3d thermodynamische Simulation


    hermische Bauphysik oder HLS-Planung

    Güttinger Ingenieure GbR

    Kempten


    Andere

    Kettner & Baur GmbH

    Memmingen

    Elektroplanung


    Andere

    Generation Licht

    Gaienhofen/ Hemmenhofen

    Lichtplanung


    Andere

    Anwander GmbH & Co. KG

    Sulzberg

    Brandschutzplanung


    Andere

Nachhaltigkeitsansatz des Eigentümers

Durch den weitestgehenden Erhalt des Bestands mit 75% wird die zusätzlich benötigte „graue Energie“ reduziert. Das heißt, sämtliche bereits verbrauchte Energie, die zur Herstellung, zum Transport und für den Einbau von Baustoffen erforderlich ist, wird durch die Verwendung des Bestands eingespart. Zusammen mit einem regenerativen Anteil im Mittel von 82 % beim Heizen und Kühlen werden so die Stärken des Bestands für den Klimaschutz aktiviert. Somit folgt auch das energetische Konzept der Reggio-Idee. Der CO2-Verbrauch mit 4,98 kg/m²a entspricht dem Klimaziel 2050, einer 90%-Reduktion des derzeitigen Verbrauchs auf 5 kg/m²a.

Beschreibung der Architektur

Konzept

Das Konzept für die Kindertagesstätte entspringt der in ihr angewendeten Reggio-Pädagogik, die von der Alois Goldhofer Stiftung bewusst ausgewählt wurde. Diese Pädagogik ist zurückzuführen auf die Zeit nach Ende des zweiten Weltkriegs als die BürgerInnen der italienischen Stadt Reggio nell’Emilia einen Panzer fanden, seine Einzelteile verkauften und mit dem Erlös den Bau eines Kindergartens finanzierten. Dadurch entstand auch ein wesentliches Element der Reggio-Pädagogik, Gebrauchtes wiederzuverwenden und damit kreativ umzugehen.

Wiederverwendung des Gebrauchten

Wiederverwendung des Gebrauchten und sorgsamer Umgang mit dem Bestand sind auch von gesellschaftlichem und ökologischem Wert. Dieser wird für die Kinder in der Architektur der Kita erfahrbar. Elementar dabei ist, dass nicht gegen die Schwächen, sondern mit den Stärken des Bestands gearbeitet wird.
Dafür wird das alte Wohnhaus der Stifterfamilie weitergenutzt und dessen Substanz aktiviert. Das Projekt unterstützt damit die Zirkularität beim Bauen. Die Vermeidung von zusätzlicher „grauer Energie“ und die nachhaltige Schonung von Ressourcen stehen im Vordergrund. Auch das „As-Found-Prinzip“ – die Auseinandersetzung mit dem Vorgefundenen der Alltagsarchitektur – als architekturtheoretische Position von Alison und Peter Smithson – folgt diesem Ansatz.

Kybernetisches Energiekonzept und Nachhaltigkeit

Deswegen werden die drei bestehenden Gebäudeteile des alten Wohnhauses erhalten, freigestellt und unter einer neuen Hülle aus Polycarbonatstegplatten eingestellt.

Die zwischen Alt und Neu entstehenden Räume – früher Außenraum, jetzt Innenraum – dienen als Gemeinschaftsbereiche mit flexibler Nutzung im Kita-Alltag und sind Teil des nachhaltigen, kybernetischen Energiekonzepts. Sie sind genutzte Zwischenräume, aber auch „Energiegärten“ (Günter Pfeifer).

Die Hülle aus recycelbarem Polycarbonat ist Kollektor von Licht und Energie und erlaubt, dass die Bestandswände ungedämmt und als historische Schicht erfahrbar bleiben. Das Energiekonzept ist kybernetisches Zusammenspiel von Raum, Konstruktion und Gebrauch. Dies ermöglicht, die energetische Sanierung - alternativ zum “WDVS” – architektonisch, räumlich zu lösen.

In den kalten Jahreszeiten wird die durch die Fassade als „Sonnenkollektor“ gewonnene passivsolare Energie für den Wärmehaushalt und die kontrollierte Be- und Entlüftung genutzt. Die Fassade wirkt passivsolar zur Vorkonditionierung der Frischluft. Die über die Photovoltaikanlage gewonnene Energie wird direkt in Wärme umgewandelt und zum Betrieb der Wärmepumpe und Beleuchtung verwendet. Im Sommer unterstützt die Speichermasse des Bestands und eine Regenwasserzisterne die Kühlung des Hauses. Betriebs- und Folgekosten werden dadurch minimiert. Die Dachfläche ist extensiv begrünt und trägt damit zur Langlebigkeit der Konstruktion und zur Verbesserung des Mikroklimas bei.

Durch den weitest gehenden Erhalt des Bestands mit 75% und damit die Reduzierung von zusätzlicher „grauer Energie“, sowie einem regenerativen Anteil im Mittel von 82 % beim Heizen und Kühlen werden die Stärken des Bestands für den Klimaschutz aktiviert. Somit folgt auch das energetische Konzept der Reggio-Idee. Der CO2-Verbrauch mit 4,98 kg/m²a entspricht dem Klimaziel 2050, einer 90%-Reduktion des derzeitigen Verbrauchs auf 5 kg/m²a.

Aktivierung des Bestands

Die Kita wird über die „Piazza“, den zentralen Reggio-Treffpunkt zwischen Alt und Neu, betreten.

Die ehemaligen Wohnräume sind nun Gruppen- und Nebenräume der Kita. Die Garage bietet Platz für die neue Küche. Über ihre frühere Toröffnung wird der Speiseraum bedient.

Die Krippe befindet sich im ehemaligen Schwimmbad. Dort können die Kinder in einem Spielhaus ins alte Schwimmbecken hinabklettern.

Von der „Piazza“ geht es, dem Geländeversprung folgend, über eine großzügige Treppe und eine Rutsche in den zweigeschossigen Multifunktions- und Toberaum im tiefer liegenden Gartengeschoss. In der hier angrenzenden „Remida“ wird Recycling-Material gelagert, mit dem die Kinder in den Ateliers und der Kita-Werkstatt arbeiten.

Das Konzept des Wiederverwendens und Aktivierens ist erlebbar: Materialität und Details des Bestands bleiben wie vorgefunden. Ergänzte Konstruktion ist sichtbar roh. Neue Möbel vom Schreiner unterstützen den Gebrauch des Alten.

Auch in der Landschaftsarchitektur wird die Wiederverwendung des bestehenden fortgesetzt.

Der Garten in der ehemaligen Parkanlage des Stifter-Anwesens kann über beide Geschosse erreicht werden. Bewegung und Spiel zwischen den alten Bäumen und auf der großzügigen Wiese sind hier gut möglich.

Parzellen, die mit Steinplatten, Betonpfosten und Holzstämmen des Bestands gebaut und mit recycelten Materialien befüllt sind, können hier von den Kindern beim Spielen und Experimentieren verwendet werden.

Übertragbarkeit für die relevanten Fragen des Bauens

Die Übertragbarkeit des Konzepts liegt in der Suche nach architektonischen Antworten auf die relevanten Fragen des Bauens: Wie nutzen wir Bestand und schonen Ressourcen? Wie reduzieren wir CO2 und gewinnen Raum? Wie wird Klimaschutz als Bereicherung erfahrbar?

Hierbei wird die kybernetische Wechselwirkung zwischen Bestand, Hülle, Nutzung, Energie und Raum im Zusammenhang gesamtheitlich erforscht. “Mit dem kybernetischen Prinzip werden die zur Verfügung stehenden energetischen Ressourcen (...) so zusammengeführt, dass sie sich in ihrer Wirkung ergänzen. Die Elemente dazu sind in erster Linie architektonischer Struktur und sollen mit möglichst geringer Unterstützung durch technische Mittel zu gegenseitigem Nutzen gefördert werden.” (Günter Pfeifer)

Die Frage der Energiegewinnung wird räumlich beantwortet und nicht allein technisch-konstruktiv. Sie wird am eigenen Leib und als Raumangebot von den BewohnerInnen erfahren. So bilden die Wiederverwendung von gebrauchter Gebäudesubstanz und deren Weiternutzung im Alltag sowie das räumlich-architektonische Energiekonzept verfolgenswerte Innovationsstränge. Dieses Entwurfskonzept kann dazu beitragen, den ökologisch notwendigen Wandel beim Bauen zu unterstützen.

Auch die soziale Nachhaltigkeit wurde bei der Kita bedacht. Um die Betreuung der Kinder mit geschulten BegleiterInnen langfristig zu sichern, bildet die Stadt Memmingen mit Unterstützung der Alois Goldhofer Stiftung ihre Teams in der Reggio-Pädagogik weiter. Da die Kita zudem nahe des örtlichen Gewerbegebiets liegt, bietet sie so auch Plätze für den Stadtteil und die MitarbeiterInnen der nahegelegenen Industrieunternehmen.

Zusätzlich stehen die Gemeinschafts- und Multifunktionsräume anderen Nutzergruppen im Quartier und in der Stadt offen.

Energieverbrauch

  • 44,00 kWhpe/m2.year
  • 232,00 kWhpe/m2.year
  • Sonstige

  • 29,00 kWhfe/m2.year
  • 434,00 kWhpe/m2.year

Performance der Gebäudehülle

    Die zwischen Alt und Neu entstandenen Räume – früher Außenraum, jetzt Innenraum – fungieren als genutzte Zwischenräume, aber auch als „Energiegärten“ (Prof. Günter Pfeifer). Um die solaren Gewinne, die Innentemperaturen und den sommerlichen Wärmeschutz der Kita in Beziehung zur neuen Hülle und der Speichermasse des Bestands zu untersuchen, wurde eine 3-D thermodynamische Simulation des Gebäudes während des ganzen Jahresverlaufs durchgeführt. Auf dieser Basis wurden die Parameter für die Hülle aus recycelbarem Polycarbonat festgelegt. Um immer optimale Licht- und Energieerträge zu gewährleisten, wurde diese als ein- oder zweischalige Fassade und ihre unterschiedlichen Transluzenzgrade mit entsprechenden Energiedurchlasswerten entwickelt. Die neue Hülle ist so Kollektor von Licht und Energie und erlaubt, die Bestandswände ungedämmt und als historische Schicht zu erhalten.In den kalten Jahreszeiten wird die durch die Fassade als „Sonnenluftkollektor“ gewonnene passivsolare Energie zur Raumerwärmung und Vorkonditionierung der Frischluft genutzt. Die über die Photovoltaikanlage gewonnene Energie wird direkt für den Restheizenergiebedarf in Wärme umgewandelt und zum Betrieb der Wärmepumpe und Beleuchtung verwendet. Im Sommer unterstützt die Speichermasse des Bestands, die Nachtspülung und eine Regenwasserzisterne die natürliche Kühlung des Hauses.Das Energiekonzept ist also Zusammenspiel von Raum, Licht, Bestand und Gebrauch. Durch den weitestgehenden Erhalt des Gebäudebestands mit 75 % und damit die Reduzierung von zusätzlicher „grauer Energie“, werden seine Stärken für den Klimaschutz genutzt. Der regenerative Anteil liegt beim Heizen und Kühlen bei 82 %. Der CO2-Verbrauch mit 4,98 kg/m²a entspricht bereits jetzt dem Klimaziel 2050. Demnach folgt die integrierte Planung gesamtheitlich der Reggio-Idee der Wertschätzung und Aktivierung des Bestehenden.

    Das begleitende Monitoring liefert genaue Nutzungsdaten an die Ingenieure. Mithilfe dieser Daten wird ein digitaler Zwilling des Gebäudes gespeist. Ein Dashboard liefert genaue Verläufe und Energiemengen und kann genutzt werden um das System optimieren zu können. Mit Hilfe dieser Daten zu Verlauf und Energieverbrauch wird die vorangegangene Simulation mit der Realität abgeglichen und die Gebäudeautomation optimiert. Der derzeitige Trend des Monitorings zeigt eine Unterschreitung der geplanten Energieverbräuche.

Systems

    • Wärmepumpe
    • Niedertemperatur-Fußbodenheizung
    • Wärmepumpe
    • Kaltwassersatz (water chiller)
    • Bauteilaktivierung
    • Natürliche Belüftung
    • Nächtliche Belüftung (aktiv)
    • Nächtliche Belüftung (passiv)
    • Mechanische Belüftung
    • Photovoltaik
    • Sonstige erneuerbare Systeme
    • Wärmepumpe
  • 82,00 %
  • Siehe "Performance der Gebäudehülle"

Wassermanagement

    Die extensive Begrünung des Flachdachs dient zur Regenrückhaltung. Der Restanteil wird in einer Gartenregenwasserzisterne mit 12 000 Litern Fassungsvermögen gesammelt. Die Zisterne ist zudem in die Energiekonzeption des Gebäudes integriert: Das aufgefangene und in der Zisterne gespeicherte Regenwasser mit konstanter Temperatur von ca. 12-14 Grad °C wird zur Vorerwärmung der Zuluft im Winter und adiabaten Kühlung im Sommer genutzt.

Innenraumluftqualität

    Der Bauprozess wurde durch einen entsprechend qualifizierten Schadstoffexperten begleitet. Somit  wurde baubegleitendes Schadstoffmanagement neuer Baustoffe und Materialien mit dem Fokus der Verwendung von emissionsarmen Baustoffen-und Produkten durchgeführt.  Auszug aus den Produktkriterien z. B. weichmacher- und lösungsmittelfreiheit, EC1/EC1plus, EC1-R/EC1plus-R, Giscode PU10, Ö10, Ral-ZU 123, 113, kein chemischer Holzschutz im Innenraum etc.
    Ebenso wurden alle Materialen des Bestandsgebäudes auf Schadstoffe z.B. PAK, PCB, Lindan etc. untersucht. Alle unbelastete Materialien wurden behalten/wiederverwendet, alle belasteten fachgerecht abgebrochen und entsorgt.

    Zur Sicherstellung der Qualität wurde 4 Wochen nach Baufertigstellung und Bezug des Gebäudes eine Innenraumluftmessung durchgeführt.

    Die Messung fand bei Normalbetrieb der Lüftungsanlage statt:
    Probennahme gem. DIN EN UISt 16000 Teile 1,2,35,6
    Untersuchungsparameter. VOC und Formaldehyd

    TVOC gem. Ad-hoc: Ergebnisse alle im Bereich < 200 ug/m³
    Formaldehyd alle Ergebnisse < 15 ug/m³

Gesundheit und Komfort

    Alle nach Überprüfung auf Schadstoffe unbelasteten Materialien aus dem Bestand wurden behalten oder wiederverwendet.
    Auf ein konventionelles Wärmedämmverbundsystem als energetische Sanierung wurde verzichtet.
    Das Gebäude zeichnet sich durch größtmöglichsten Verzicht auf Verbundmaterialien, direkte Verwendung der Materialien wie Polycarbonat (100% recyclebar, teils als Regranulat), Stahl, neues Mauerwerk sowie das Sichtbar-Belassen von Bestandsmauerwerk, Kalkputz, mineralischem Anstrich, Beton, Linoleumböden, Holzeinbauten und Möbeln aus. Die Oberflächen der verwendeten Materialien wurden weitestgehend ohne weitere Oberflächenbehandlung verwendet.

     

    810ppm

    Innentemperaturmessung Winter 20°C, Innentemperaturmessung Sommer 25,2°C

    Die Akustik wird begünstigt, da viele der Wandflächen nicht parallel zueinander liegen. Somit ist bereits vom Entwurf her eine gute Ton Durchmischung bzw. Diffusität gegeben. Die Nischen, offenen Regale, Mobiliar im Raum sowie die Akustikdecken tragen ebenfalls zu einer besseren Diffusität und somit akustischem Verhalten bei. Die Akustikdecken bestehen aus einer hölzernen Unterkonstruktion mit Schalldämmung in den Hohlräumen. Als Absorber zum Raum hin dienen sichtbar belassene Holzwolle-Akustikplatten.

    Dm 7-10 % nach DIALux

Produkt/ Dienstleistung

    Polycarbonat-Stegplatten

    Rodeca GmbH

    Rodeca GmbH, Freiherr-vom-Stein-Straße 165, D-45473 Mülheim an der Ruhr, [email protected]

    Rohbau / Struktur, Mauerwerk, Fassade

    Polycarbonat ist ein glasklares hochschlagzähes Thermoplast mit einer Temperaturbeständigkeit von -40 bis +115°C, kurzfristig bis zu 130°C. Seine Schlagzähigkeit ist über diesen Temperaturbereich nahezu gleichbleibend. Die vielen verschiedenen Produktvarianten bieten flexible Gestaltungsmöglichkeiten in Form, Farbe und Funktion. Die Platten bieten ein gutes Langzeitverhalten durch UV-Schutz und sind lichtdurchlässig sowie wärmedämmend. Sie finden Anwendung als Fassadenverkleidungen, Rundfassaden, in Sport- und Gewerbehallen, beim Innenausbau, speziell Messebau oder Raumteilung, sowie bei Wand- und Dachsanierungen.Polycarbonat kann zu 100% recycelt werden.

Umweltqualität des Gebäudes

  • gebäudetechnsiche Flexibilität
  • Innenraumluftqualität und Gesundheit
  • Biodiversität
  • Beratung - Zusammenarbeit
  • Komfort visuell, olfaktorisch, thermisch)
  • Energieffizienz
  • Erneuerbare Energien
  • Instandhaltung
  • building end of life management
  • Einbeziehung des Grundstücks
  • Bauprozess
  • Produkte und Materialien

Gründe für die Teilnahme an dem/den Wettbewerb(en)

Das Gebäude setzt sich in besonderem Maße mit der "Sorge um den Bestand" außeinander. Der Bestand wurde aktiviert und rückgebaute Materialien im Außenbereich wieder verwendet. Durch die Nutzung des Potentials des Bestands konnten 75% Graue Energie eingespart werden.

Die durch das Einstellen der alten Gebäudeteile unter die neue Hülle aus Polycarbonatstegplatten entstehenden Zwischenräume sind Raumerweiterung für die Kitafunktionen und Element des nachhaltigen Energiekonzepts. Die neue Hülle ist Kollektor von Licht und Energie. Als passivsolare Fassade erlaubt sie, die Bestandswände ungedämmt und als historische Schicht zu erhalten. Als aktivsolare Komponente trägt die PV-Anlage auf dem Dach zur regenerativen Energieerzeugung bei. Das Energiekonzept ist kybernetisches Zusammenspiel von Raum, Konstruktion und Gebrauch. Durch die Einsparung von „grauer Energie“, Baustoffen und einer CO2-Reduktion, die bereits heute das Klimaziel 2050 erfüllt, werden die Stärken des Bestands und des Gebrauchten für den Klimaschutz aktiviert.

Gebäude Kandidat in der Kategorie

Alle Kategorien

Alle Kategorien

Green Solutions Awards 2020-2021 / Deutschland

 Nachhaltigkeit
 Bestand
 Ressoucen
 CO2
 Bestandsaktivierung
 Reduce-Reuse-Recycle
 Thermische Sanierung
 Minimierte Grauenergie


Andere Projekte

Mehr unter

Wettbewerb

Green Solutions Awards 2020-2021 / Deutschland